libs/math.git
10 months agoAdd row and column accessors to Matrix master
Mikko Rasa [Thu, 9 Nov 2017 10:45:59 +0000 (12:45 +0200)]
Add row and column accessors to Matrix

10 months agoRename the low-level matrix inversion function to gauss_jordan
Mikko Rasa [Thu, 9 Nov 2017 10:07:20 +0000 (12:07 +0200)]
Rename the low-level matrix inversion function to gauss_jordan

Since that's the name of the algorithm being used.  Also remove an
unnecessary assignment from the non-mutating case.

17 months agoOptimize bounding box bisection with more early culling
Mikko Rasa [Tue, 18 Apr 2017 11:16:45 +0000 (14:16 +0300)]
Optimize bounding box bisection with more early culling

17 months agoAdd some comments to shape.h
Mikko Rasa [Tue, 18 Apr 2017 06:37:35 +0000 (09:37 +0300)]
Add some comments to shape.h

17 months agoUse the coverage function to calculate tighter bounding boxes
Mikko Rasa [Tue, 18 Apr 2017 06:10:55 +0000 (09:10 +0300)]
Use the coverage function to calculate tighter bounding boxes

17 months agoAdd a function to test whether a shapes covers a bounding box
Mikko Rasa [Tue, 18 Apr 2017 06:04:02 +0000 (09:04 +0300)]
Add a function to test whether a shapes covers a bounding box

17 months agoFix composite shape ray intersection logic
Mikko Rasa [Mon, 17 Apr 2017 19:27:29 +0000 (22:27 +0300)]
Fix composite shape ray intersection logic

The test for start_nesting coalescence was written the wrong way, causing
intersection shapes to return spurious hits when the ray started inside
some part of the shape.  Presumably union shapes did not return hits in
some cases when they should.

20 months agoUse correct class to refer to member function
Mikko Rasa [Fri, 6 Jan 2017 12:46:51 +0000 (14:46 +0200)]
Use correct class to refer to member function

20 months agoAdd a missing include
Mikko Rasa [Fri, 6 Jan 2017 02:57:08 +0000 (04:57 +0200)]
Add a missing include

2 years agoUse numeric literals in place of M_PI
Mikko Rasa [Fri, 16 Sep 2016 22:38:05 +0000 (01:38 +0300)]
Use numeric literals in place of M_PI

Recent Windows headers require _USE_MATH_DEFINES to be #defined in order
to #define M_PI, but we can't guarantee that someone else won't #include
<cmath> before us.

2 years agoAvoid a warning about shadowing a member
Mikko Rasa [Thu, 1 Sep 2016 13:33:30 +0000 (16:33 +0300)]
Avoid a warning about shadowing a member

2 years agoAdd dynamically allocated versions of matrix and vector
Mikko Rasa [Sun, 28 Aug 2016 23:57:09 +0000 (02:57 +0300)]
Add dynamically allocated versions of matrix and vector

Sometimes it's not possible to know the dimensions at compile time, for
example when calculating regressions from user-inputted data.

2 years agoAdjust start_nesting in CompositeShape::get_intersections
Mikko Rasa [Fri, 19 Aug 2016 23:24:20 +0000 (02:24 +0300)]
Adjust start_nesting in CompositeShape::get_intersections

The intersection points are coalesced to incrementally form a single
composite shape so start_nesting must follow suit.

2 years agoEnsure that HyperBox does not produce duplicate intersections
Mikko Rasa [Sat, 2 Jul 2016 17:00:50 +0000 (20:00 +0300)]
Ensure that HyperBox does not produce duplicate intersections

In certain corner cases (literally) two coincident intersections could be
produced when the ray passed through the edge of the box, preventing
intersctions on the opposite side from being produced.

2 years agoUse the proper array size in the raytrace example
Mikko Rasa [Sat, 2 Jul 2016 16:58:44 +0000 (19:58 +0300)]
Use the proper array size in the raytrace example

2 years agoMinor fixes
Mikko Rasa [Sat, 2 Jul 2016 15:36:04 +0000 (18:36 +0300)]
Minor fixes

2 years agoRework CompositeShape algorithms
Mikko Rasa [Sat, 2 Jul 2016 15:34:13 +0000 (18:34 +0300)]
Rework CompositeShape algorithms

The old version had problems with coplanar surfaces and sometimes failed
to produce intersections when it should have.

2 years agoAdd an entry flag to SharedPoint
Mikko Rasa [Sat, 2 Jul 2016 15:06:27 +0000 (18:06 +0300)]
Add an entry flag to SharedPoint

2 years agoRemove a debug print
Mikko Rasa [Wed, 10 Feb 2016 15:24:44 +0000 (17:24 +0200)]
Remove a debug print

2 years agoFix the name of the properties panel
Mikko Rasa [Wed, 10 Feb 2016 15:20:48 +0000 (17:20 +0200)]
Fix the name of the properties panel

2 years agoAdd a Blender operator to export shapes
Mikko Rasa [Tue, 9 Feb 2016 15:04:50 +0000 (17:04 +0200)]
Add a Blender operator to export shapes

2 years agoCorrect a spelling mistake
Mikko Rasa [Fri, 4 Dec 2015 11:05:23 +0000 (13:05 +0200)]
Correct a spelling mistake

2 years agoAdd a forgotten & to a getter
Mikko Rasa [Fri, 4 Dec 2015 11:04:38 +0000 (13:04 +0200)]
Add a forgotten & to a getter

3 years agoFix the bounding sphere algorithm
Mikko Rasa [Wed, 10 Dec 2014 18:32:47 +0000 (20:32 +0200)]
Fix the bounding sphere algorithm

3 years agoAdd missing #includes to dummy.cpp
Mikko Rasa [Sat, 22 Nov 2014 09:47:59 +0000 (11:47 +0200)]
Add missing #includes to dummy.cpp

3 years agoComment tweaks
Mikko Rasa [Sat, 22 Nov 2014 09:47:41 +0000 (11:47 +0200)]
Comment tweaks

3 years agoAvoid division by zero in HalfSpace::get_intersections
Mikko Rasa [Sat, 22 Nov 2014 09:41:13 +0000 (11:41 +0200)]
Avoid division by zero in HalfSpace::get_intersections

3 years agoAlways explicitly construct values of type T
Mikko Rasa [Sat, 22 Nov 2014 09:35:31 +0000 (11:35 +0200)]
Always explicitly construct values of type T

3 years agoAdd a raytracer example program
Mikko Rasa [Sat, 22 Nov 2014 09:18:34 +0000 (11:18 +0200)]
Add a raytracer example program

3 years agoAdd a loading system for shapes
Mikko Rasa [Sat, 22 Nov 2014 09:15:15 +0000 (11:15 +0200)]
Add a loading system for shapes

3 years agoConvert the geometry part to use the new vector slicing API
Mikko Rasa [Fri, 21 Nov 2014 12:38:55 +0000 (14:38 +0200)]
Convert the geometry part to use the new vector slicing API

Everything being templates makes catching subtle compilation errors a bit
hard.

3 years agoClearer API for slicing and dicing vectors, and also matrices
Mikko Rasa [Thu, 13 Nov 2014 21:18:47 +0000 (23:18 +0200)]
Clearer API for slicing and dicing vectors, and also matrices

3 years agoAlways pivot rows when inverting for better numerical stability
Mikko Rasa [Fri, 31 Oct 2014 08:08:04 +0000 (10:08 +0200)]
Always pivot rows when inverting for better numerical stability

3 years agoAdd an empty flag to BoundingSphere
Mikko Rasa [Wed, 15 Oct 2014 21:04:53 +0000 (00:04 +0300)]
Add an empty flag to BoundingSphere

Useful for distinguishing a bounding sphere that has nothing in it from
one that contains a single point.

5 years agoAdd a bounding sphere class
Mikko Rasa [Wed, 11 Sep 2013 07:15:02 +0000 (10:15 +0300)]
Add a bounding sphere class

Shapes don't produce bounding spheres yet, but it can be used for other
purposes.

5 years agoAdd missing return statements
Mikko Rasa [Thu, 5 Sep 2013 15:24:19 +0000 (18:24 +0300)]
Add missing return statements

5 years agoNegation contains a pointer and needs copy c'tor and operator=
Mikko Rasa [Sat, 25 May 2013 23:14:45 +0000 (02:14 +0300)]
Negation contains a pointer and needs copy c'tor and operator=

5 years agoPut ray and bounding box transformations in AffineTransformation
Mikko Rasa [Fri, 24 May 2013 06:06:29 +0000 (09:06 +0300)]
Put ray and bounding box transformations in AffineTransformation

This makes them easier to use elsewhere, in cases where creating a
TransformedShape would be overkill.

5 years agoTake care not to count initialization values when finding min/max
Mikko Rasa [Thu, 23 May 2013 19:26:28 +0000 (22:26 +0300)]
Take care not to count initialization values when finding min/max

5 years agoAdd testcases for BoundingBox
Mikko Rasa [Thu, 23 May 2013 09:12:54 +0000 (12:12 +0300)]
Add testcases for BoundingBox

5 years agoSome bounding box logic fixes
Mikko Rasa [Thu, 23 May 2013 09:01:07 +0000 (12:01 +0300)]
Some bounding box logic fixes

5 years agoMake CompositeShape::get_intersections work with null points
Mikko Rasa [Wed, 22 May 2013 20:03:07 +0000 (23:03 +0300)]
Make CompositeShape::get_intersections work with null points

This was a bit tricky, since it's necessary to inspect the points returned
by component shapes to see if they're actually on the composite surface.
To that end, a temporary buffer is allocated.  This is most likely used in
interactive point-and-pick situations, so the performance loss should not
be significant.

5 years agoImplement the missing assignment operator in CompositeShape
Mikko Rasa [Wed, 22 May 2013 20:02:00 +0000 (23:02 +0300)]
Implement the missing assignment operator in CompositeShape

Also rewrite the copy constructor in a slightly different way.

5 years agoPut the common #includes in shape.h
Mikko Rasa [Wed, 22 May 2013 19:56:21 +0000 (22:56 +0300)]
Put the common #includes in shape.h

Almost every shape needs these, so it's not worth it to try and avoid
unnecessary headers in the base class.

5 years agoFix a case in ExtrudedShape with certain ray parameters
Mikko Rasa [Wed, 22 May 2013 19:48:45 +0000 (22:48 +0300)]
Fix a case in ExtrudedShape with certain ray parameters

A ray starting outside of the length of the shape and pointing away from
it caused a local ray with a negative limit to be constructed.

5 years agoImplement bounding boxes with a separate class
Mikko Rasa [Wed, 22 May 2013 17:34:01 +0000 (20:34 +0300)]
Implement bounding boxes with a separate class

This solves several problems with them, including positioning off the
origin and bounding boxes of negated shapes.

5 years agoRewrite composite shape vector constructors with iterator ranges
Mikko Rasa [Wed, 22 May 2013 13:14:16 +0000 (16:14 +0300)]
Rewrite composite shape vector constructors with iterator ranges

Besides the issue of favoring one container type over others, constness
of the contents causes it to be a different, incompatible type.  Iterators
solve this in an elegant way.

5 years agoAdd a HalfSpace shape
Mikko Rasa [Wed, 22 May 2013 12:31:57 +0000 (15:31 +0300)]
Add a HalfSpace shape

5 years agoMake the check_intersection function non-virtual
Mikko Rasa [Tue, 21 May 2013 18:41:15 +0000 (21:41 +0300)]
Make the check_intersection function non-virtual

Almost all shapes were implementing it with a call to get_intersections,
so might as well make the base class do that.  Performance loss is likely
negligible.

5 years agoProperly sort intersection points for complex shapes
Mikko Rasa [Tue, 21 May 2013 17:53:09 +0000 (20:53 +0300)]
Properly sort intersection points for complex shapes

Code structure in simpler shapes have been adjusted to keep it similar.

5 years agoAdd shapes representing set operations
Mikko Rasa [Tue, 21 May 2013 15:39:37 +0000 (18:39 +0300)]
Add shapes representing set operations

5 years agoMiscellaneous fixes, mostly stylistic
Mikko Rasa [Tue, 21 May 2013 13:40:04 +0000 (16:40 +0300)]
Miscellaneous fixes, mostly stylistic

5 years agoVerify that parameters make sense
Mikko Rasa [Tue, 21 May 2013 13:35:40 +0000 (16:35 +0300)]
Verify that parameters make sense

5 years agoMath function usage fixes
Mikko Rasa [Tue, 21 May 2013 13:32:49 +0000 (16:32 +0300)]
Math function usage fixes

Add using declarations and #includes where needed, and clean up some
unnecessary ones.  abs() is particularly annoying, as the int version
easily gets into the global namespace and doesn't give a warning if
used with floats or doubles.

5 years agoTransform normals correctly
Mikko Rasa [Tue, 21 May 2013 13:19:56 +0000 (16:19 +0300)]
Transform normals correctly

5 years agoAdd a class for extruded shapes
Mikko Rasa [Mon, 20 May 2013 20:12:04 +0000 (23:12 +0300)]
Add a class for extruded shapes

5 years agoAdd a distance limit to Ray
Mikko Rasa [Mon, 20 May 2013 16:35:31 +0000 (19:35 +0300)]
Add a distance limit to Ray

5 years agoRecord distance in SurfacePoint
Mikko Rasa [Mon, 20 May 2013 16:33:20 +0000 (19:33 +0300)]
Record distance in SurfacePoint

5 years agoGive Vector constructors from one higher/lower dimension
Mikko Rasa [Mon, 20 May 2013 16:12:24 +0000 (19:12 +0300)]
Give Vector constructors from one higher/lower dimension

These replace the augment/reduce_vector functions, which were in a rather
odd place.

5 years agoAdd basic description for all classes
Mikko Rasa [Sun, 19 May 2013 19:14:39 +0000 (22:14 +0300)]
Add basic description for all classes

5 years agoAdd more collision check functions for shapes
Mikko Rasa [Sun, 19 May 2013 18:32:09 +0000 (21:32 +0300)]
Add more collision check functions for shapes

5 years agoUse a cached inverse transformation in TransformedShape
Mikko Rasa [Sun, 19 May 2013 18:25:47 +0000 (21:25 +0300)]
Use a cached inverse transformation in TransformedShape

5 years agoAdd multiplication and inversion operations to AffineTransformation
Mikko Rasa [Sun, 19 May 2013 18:14:28 +0000 (21:14 +0300)]
Add multiplication and inversion operations to AffineTransformation

5 years agoSome more member mis-use fixes
Mikko Rasa [Sun, 19 May 2013 18:08:13 +0000 (21:08 +0300)]
Some more member mis-use fixes

5 years agoDon't qualify potentially overloaded functions with the std namespace
Mikko Rasa [Sun, 19 May 2013 17:38:22 +0000 (20:38 +0300)]
Don't qualify potentially overloaded functions with the std namespace

Instead put a using std::func before the call.  This makes things work if
the template argument is a user-defined type with these functions defined
in another namespace.

5 years agoTransformedShape should derive from Shape
Mikko Rasa [Sun, 19 May 2013 16:27:22 +0000 (19:27 +0300)]
TransformedShape should derive from Shape

5 years agoAdd four-component members and constructor to Vector
Mikko Rasa [Sat, 18 May 2013 18:33:37 +0000 (21:33 +0300)]
Add four-component members and constructor to Vector

5 years agoFix AffineTransformation::translate
Mikko Rasa [Sat, 18 May 2013 18:32:52 +0000 (21:32 +0300)]
Fix AffineTransformation::translate

Translation coordinates go in the last column, not in the last row.

5 years agoFix Matrix template copy constructor
Mikko Rasa [Sat, 18 May 2013 18:31:41 +0000 (21:31 +0300)]
Fix Matrix template copy constructor

A different version of the template is a different class, so the data
member can't be accessed directly.

5 years agoImprovements to the Angle class
Mikko Rasa [Fri, 17 May 2013 11:12:38 +0000 (14:12 +0300)]
Improvements to the Angle class

Add comparison operators and wrapping functions.

Use turn instead of circle in the factory functions and provide an
interface to and from turns.

5 years agoRedesign the Vector interface
Mikko Rasa [Fri, 17 May 2013 10:55:57 +0000 (13:55 +0300)]
Redesign the Vector interface

The constructors from two and three components are now provided directly
by the Vector template, so Vector2 and Vector3 are no longer needed.  In
addition, two- and three-component vectors now have named members.

5 years agoSome basic test cases
Mikko Rasa [Wed, 15 May 2013 07:28:00 +0000 (10:28 +0300)]
Some basic test cases

5 years agoBeginnings of a geometry library
Mikko Rasa [Wed, 15 May 2013 07:27:06 +0000 (10:27 +0300)]
Beginnings of a geometry library

5 years agoAdd a Vector2 class
Mikko Rasa [Tue, 14 May 2013 20:11:38 +0000 (23:11 +0300)]
Add a Vector2 class

5 years agoUse the correct multiplication operator
Mikko Rasa [Tue, 14 May 2013 18:53:55 +0000 (21:53 +0300)]
Use the correct multiplication operator

5 years agoMove some simple function definitions inside the class declarations
Mikko Rasa [Tue, 14 May 2013 18:53:05 +0000 (21:53 +0300)]
Move some simple function definitions inside the class declarations

5 years agoAnother big batch of stuff
Mikko Rasa [Mon, 13 May 2013 21:11:38 +0000 (00:11 +0300)]
Another big batch of stuff

This includes most of the missing things.

5 years agoMinor fixes
Mikko Rasa [Sat, 27 Apr 2013 17:05:11 +0000 (20:05 +0300)]
Minor fixes

5 years agoRename the library to mspmath and make linal a sublibrary
Mikko Rasa [Sat, 27 Apr 2013 16:51:08 +0000 (19:51 +0300)]
Rename the library to mspmath and make linal a sublibrary

6 years agoBasic vector and matrix classes
Mikko Rasa [Thu, 30 Aug 2012 20:41:33 +0000 (23:41 +0300)]
Basic vector and matrix classes

Some classes are still incomplete