libs/core.git
9 months agoRemove unnecessary std:: qualifiers
Mikko Rasa [Sun, 29 Aug 2021 08:59:32 +0000 (11:59 +0300)]
Remove unnecessary std:: qualifiers

9 months agoUse size_t for sizes in I/O classes
Mikko Rasa [Sun, 29 Aug 2021 08:54:20 +0000 (11:54 +0300)]
Use size_t for sizes in I/O classes

9 months agoRemove deprecated things
Mikko Rasa [Sun, 29 Aug 2021 08:50:29 +0000 (11:50 +0300)]
Remove deprecated things

9 months agoBump version so I can do breaking changes
Mikko Rasa [Sun, 29 Aug 2021 08:45:43 +0000 (11:45 +0300)]
Bump version so I can do breaking changes

9 months agoFix incorrect MSVC check
Mikko Rasa [Sun, 29 Aug 2021 08:18:20 +0000 (11:18 +0300)]
Fix incorrect MSVC check

10 months agoTreat ERROR_BROKEN_PIPE as end-of-file instead of an error
Mikko Rasa [Sun, 22 Aug 2021 10:19:29 +0000 (13:19 +0300)]
Treat ERROR_BROKEN_PIPE as end-of-file instead of an error

10 months agoUse a persistent OVERLAPPED structure in EventReader
Mikko Rasa [Sun, 22 Aug 2021 10:17:08 +0000 (13:17 +0300)]
Use a persistent OVERLAPPED structure in EventReader

10 months agoClose duplicated handles after starting a new process
Mikko Rasa [Sun, 22 Aug 2021 09:41:28 +0000 (12:41 +0300)]
Close duplicated handles after starting a new process

10 months agoEnable inheriting handles in CreateProcess
Mikko Rasa [Sun, 22 Aug 2021 09:39:59 +0000 (12:39 +0300)]
Enable inheriting handles in CreateProcess

10 months agoSkip path lookup if PATH is not set
Mikko Rasa [Sun, 22 Aug 2021 09:37:15 +0000 (12:37 +0300)]
Skip path lookup if PATH is not set

10 months agoUse correct directory separator to check for absolute binary path
Mikko Rasa [Sun, 22 Aug 2021 09:33:32 +0000 (12:33 +0300)]
Use correct directory separator to check for absolute binary path

10 months agoCheck for ERROR_PATH_NOT_FOUND in adition to ERROR_FILE_NOT_FOUND
Mikko Rasa [Sun, 22 Aug 2021 09:26:19 +0000 (12:26 +0300)]
Check for ERROR_PATH_NOT_FOUND in adition to ERROR_FILE_NOT_FOUND

10 months agoFix Path::is_absolute for empty paths on Windows
Mikko Rasa [Sun, 22 Aug 2021 09:18:42 +0000 (12:18 +0300)]
Fix Path::is_absolute for empty paths on Windows

14 months agoAdd equality comparison for Variant
Mikko Rasa [Tue, 20 Apr 2021 15:11:45 +0000 (18:11 +0300)]
Add equality comparison for Variant

Besides value comparison, it's also possible to check if two Variant
objects have the same type.

14 months agoAdd TypeRegistry class
Mikko Rasa [Mon, 12 Apr 2021 11:36:12 +0000 (14:36 +0300)]
Add TypeRegistry class

This is basically a generalization of DataFile::LoadableTypeRegistry,
formulated so it isn't associated specifically with Loaders.

14 months agoAdd utility functions to search and sort containers based on a member
Mikko Rasa [Sat, 10 Apr 2021 18:07:14 +0000 (21:07 +0300)]
Add utility functions to search and sort containers based on a member

14 months agoAdd folding functions for hashes
Mikko Rasa [Sat, 3 Apr 2021 15:44:36 +0000 (18:44 +0300)]
Add folding functions for hashes

14 months agoAdd wrappers for lower_bound and upper_bound
Mikko Rasa [Fri, 2 Apr 2021 11:05:04 +0000 (14:05 +0300)]
Add wrappers for lower_bound and upper_bound

15 months agoUse the new utilities to format some strings
Mikko Rasa [Thu, 4 Mar 2021 10:29:09 +0000 (12:29 +0200)]
Use the new utilities to format some strings

15 months agoAdd some utility functions for joining strings
Mikko Rasa [Thu, 4 Mar 2021 10:26:25 +0000 (12:26 +0200)]
Add some utility functions for joining strings

16 months agoNicer formatting of exceptions with multi-line whats
Mikko Rasa [Fri, 19 Feb 2021 23:15:52 +0000 (01:15 +0200)]
Nicer formatting of exceptions with multi-line whats

16 months agoImplement weak pointers
Mikko Rasa [Sat, 6 Feb 2021 11:09:28 +0000 (13:09 +0200)]
Implement weak pointers

16 months agoMove non-oneliner functions out of RefPtr class declaration
Mikko Rasa [Sat, 6 Feb 2021 09:55:56 +0000 (11:55 +0200)]
Move non-oneliner functions out of RefPtr class declaration

16 months agoMove RefPtr refcount into a struct
Mikko Rasa [Sat, 6 Feb 2021 09:51:17 +0000 (11:51 +0200)]
Move RefPtr refcount into a struct

This is necessary to implement weak pointers

2 years agoAdd a refcount function to RefPtr
Mikko Rasa [Mon, 18 May 2020 23:27:15 +0000 (02:27 +0300)]
Add a refcount function to RefPtr

Sometimes it may be useful to check if there are any other users for the
data.

2 years agoCheck that objects still exist when dispatching events to them
Mikko Rasa [Fri, 27 Sep 2019 19:36:09 +0000 (22:36 +0300)]
Check that objects still exist when dispatching events to them

2 years agoAdditional adjustments for Poller
Mikko Rasa [Fri, 27 Sep 2019 19:35:14 +0000 (22:35 +0300)]
Additional adjustments for Poller

2 years agoUse vectors for storage in Poller
Mikko Rasa [Fri, 27 Sep 2019 19:34:05 +0000 (22:34 +0300)]
Use vectors for storage in Poller

2 years agoRefactor signal connection handling in EventDispatcher
Mikko Rasa [Fri, 27 Sep 2019 19:24:07 +0000 (22:24 +0300)]
Refactor signal connection handling in EventDispatcher

Connect the signals to functions on the Slot object to make them easier
to disconnect.

2 years agoAdd RemoveConstReference metaprogamming struct
Mikko Rasa [Fri, 27 Sep 2019 00:05:07 +0000 (03:05 +0300)]
Add RemoveConstReference metaprogamming struct

It combines RemoveConst and RemoveReference but is much shorter

2 years agoAdd FileMonitor stubs for Windows
Mikko Rasa [Wed, 25 Sep 2019 20:42:08 +0000 (23:42 +0300)]
Add FileMonitor stubs for Windows

2 years agoAdd a class for monitoring changes in files
Mikko Rasa [Sat, 21 Sep 2019 15:25:59 +0000 (18:25 +0300)]
Add a class for monitoring changes in files

2 years agoAdd a facility to automatically create backtraces for exceptions
Mikko Rasa [Tue, 17 Sep 2019 14:22:55 +0000 (17:22 +0300)]
Add a facility to automatically create backtraces for exceptions

Obtaining a backtrace in the catch block won't show where the exception
happened.  Hooking into the exception handler internals is necessary.
Because this is somewhat disruptive to the language runtime, it is an
optional feature and disabled by default.

3 years agoInvent a value for argv[0] if not present
Mikko Rasa [Sun, 9 Jun 2019 11:35:27 +0000 (14:35 +0300)]
Invent a value for argv[0] if not present

Gdbserver seems to pass an empty argv[0], at least on Windows.  That
causes problems with the various get_*_dir functions.

3 years agoFix formatted output operator detection in lexicalcast.h
Mikko Rasa [Mon, 3 Jun 2019 11:50:39 +0000 (14:50 +0300)]
Fix formatted output operator detection in lexicalcast.h

Since it was using a default-constructed value as part of the test
expression, it would fail to detect the operator for classes that are
not default-constructable.

3 years agoFormatting fixes
Mikko Rasa [Mon, 3 Jun 2019 11:36:37 +0000 (14:36 +0300)]
Formatting fixes

3 years agoFix references to deprecated functions
Mikko Rasa [Mon, 3 Jun 2019 11:31:17 +0000 (14:31 +0300)]
Fix references to deprecated functions

3 years agoAnnotate deprecated functions as such
Mikko Rasa [Mon, 3 Jun 2019 11:31:03 +0000 (14:31 +0300)]
Annotate deprecated functions as such

3 years agoAllow std::vector to be used for GetOpt value lists
Mikko Rasa [Mon, 3 Jun 2019 10:24:11 +0000 (13:24 +0300)]
Allow std::vector to be used for GetOpt value lists

3 years agoAdd a version of get_item that dynamic_casts the result
Mikko Rasa [Fri, 24 May 2019 16:58:39 +0000 (19:58 +0300)]
Add a version of get_item that dynamic_casts the result

3 years agoSimplify the SFINAE construct a bit
Mikko Rasa [Fri, 24 May 2019 16:57:22 +0000 (19:57 +0300)]
Simplify the SFINAE construct a bit

More of the common stuff is now stored in the helper struct.

3 years agoAdd a main() function for Windows
Mikko Rasa [Wed, 26 Dec 2018 22:38:04 +0000 (00:38 +0200)]
Add a main() function for Windows

Console applications (at least those compiled with MinGW) use it as the
entry point.  MinGW has a support library to use WinMain as entry point,
but that requires a hack in builder that causes trouble with applications
that have a main() of their own.

3 years agoActually pass sec_attr to CreateFile
Mikko Rasa [Fri, 6 Jul 2018 17:59:32 +0000 (20:59 +0300)]
Actually pass sec_attr to CreateFile

4 years agoMake sure all classes have sensible copy semantics
Mikko Rasa [Wed, 25 Apr 2018 10:16:55 +0000 (13:16 +0300)]
Make sure all classes have sensible copy semantics

They must either support copying or be derived from NonCopyable.

4 years agoAdd a NonCopyable utility base class
Mikko Rasa [Wed, 25 Apr 2018 10:15:43 +0000 (13:15 +0300)]
Add a NonCopyable utility base class

4 years agoUse nicer formatting for string keys in key_error
Mikko Rasa [Wed, 25 Apr 2018 10:06:00 +0000 (13:06 +0300)]
Use nicer formatting for string keys in key_error

4 years agoAdd whole-container versions of sort and stable_sort
Mikko Rasa [Sun, 25 Mar 2018 11:28:10 +0000 (14:28 +0300)]
Add whole-container versions of sort and stable_sort

4 years agoMark the functions in algorithm.h as inline
Mikko Rasa [Sun, 25 Mar 2018 11:20:30 +0000 (14:20 +0300)]
Mark the functions in algorithm.h as inline

4 years agoAdd a method to set autobase in Fmt
Mikko Rasa [Wed, 21 Feb 2018 17:29:43 +0000 (19:29 +0200)]
Add a method to set autobase in Fmt

4 years agoAdd stub implementations of the pure virtual functions to Asset
Mikko Rasa [Mon, 4 Dec 2017 14:28:15 +0000 (16:28 +0200)]
Add stub implementations of the pure virtual functions to Asset

4 years agoRemove test case for invalid Path iterator
Mikko Rasa [Sat, 2 Dec 2017 20:23:13 +0000 (22:23 +0200)]
Remove test case for invalid Path iterator

Path::Iterator now caches the current component and no longer throws when
dereferencing end().

4 years agoFix incorrect function name in an exception
Mikko Rasa [Sat, 2 Dec 2017 15:05:54 +0000 (17:05 +0200)]
Fix incorrect function name in an exception

4 years agoFix basename and dirname on an empty Path
Mikko Rasa [Sat, 2 Dec 2017 15:04:00 +0000 (17:04 +0200)]
Fix basename and dirname on an empty Path

4 years agoImplement controls for file descriptor inheritance
Mikko Rasa [Sat, 2 Dec 2017 15:03:10 +0000 (17:03 +0200)]
Implement controls for file descriptor inheritance

4 years agoFix mismatched fcntls in sys_set_blocking on unix
Mikko Rasa [Sat, 2 Dec 2017 14:44:48 +0000 (16:44 +0200)]
Fix mismatched fcntls in sys_set_blocking on unix

4 years agoMake certain functions pure virtual so I won't forget to implement them
Mikko Rasa [Sat, 2 Dec 2017 14:41:22 +0000 (16:41 +0200)]
Make certain functions pure virtual so I won't forget to implement them

4 years agoAdd missing get_handle function to Serial
Mikko Rasa [Sat, 2 Dec 2017 14:33:44 +0000 (16:33 +0200)]
Add missing get_handle function to Serial

4 years agoAdd a missing mode flag adjustment to Console::set_block
Mikko Rasa [Sat, 2 Dec 2017 14:32:33 +0000 (16:32 +0200)]
Add a missing mode flag adjustment to Console::set_block

4 years agoAdd a helper function for adjusting mode flags
Mikko Rasa [Sat, 2 Dec 2017 14:32:13 +0000 (16:32 +0200)]
Add a helper function for adjusting mode flags

5 years agoGuard against badly behaving get functions in getline
Mikko Rasa [Sun, 8 Jan 2017 11:59:57 +0000 (13:59 +0200)]
Guard against badly behaving get functions in getline

5 years agoReturn -1 from Slice::get at eof
Mikko Rasa [Sun, 8 Jan 2017 11:59:41 +0000 (13:59 +0200)]
Return -1 from Slice::get at eof

5 years agoPthread_setname_np is a GNU extension
Mikko Rasa [Fri, 6 Jan 2017 02:54:14 +0000 (04:54 +0200)]
Pthread_setname_np is a GNU extension

5 years agoAdd implementations of find and find_if that take a container
Mikko Rasa [Sat, 5 Nov 2016 11:28:12 +0000 (13:28 +0200)]
Add implementations of find and find_if that take a container

Rather than an iterator pair.  Searching through an entire container is
a very common use case.

5 years agoAdd integration between EventDispatcher and Timer
Mikko Rasa [Sun, 30 Oct 2016 15:15:40 +0000 (17:15 +0200)]
Add integration between EventDispatcher and Timer

5 years agoAdd a class for loading and accessing modules at runtime
Mikko Rasa [Sat, 29 Oct 2016 16:43:42 +0000 (19:43 +0300)]
Add a class for loading and accessing modules at runtime

5 years agoAdd microsecond precision to RFC 3339 dates
Mikko Rasa [Fri, 28 Oct 2016 21:41:01 +0000 (00:41 +0300)]
Add microsecond precision to RFC 3339 dates

5 years agoAdd a construct to create conditional RAII objects
Mikko Rasa [Fri, 28 Oct 2016 11:24:40 +0000 (14:24 +0300)]
Add a construct to create conditional RAII objects

5 years agoUse the correct unit of time for WaitForSingleObject
Mikko Rasa [Tue, 20 Sep 2016 00:40:46 +0000 (03:40 +0300)]
Use the correct unit of time for WaitForSingleObject

5 years agoUse a different diagnostic pragma for recent GCC versions
Mikko Rasa [Fri, 2 Sep 2016 22:10:07 +0000 (01:10 +0300)]
Use a different diagnostic pragma for recent GCC versions

5 years agoFix an incorrect comparison
Mikko Rasa [Sun, 14 Aug 2016 18:46:42 +0000 (21:46 +0300)]
Fix an incorrect comparison

5 years agoUse variadic templates for format and print functions if available
Mikko Rasa [Tue, 2 Aug 2016 09:16:25 +0000 (12:16 +0300)]
Use variadic templates for format and print functions if available

5 years agoMerge agouti:prog/core
Mikko Rasa [Wed, 27 Jul 2016 15:49:16 +0000 (18:49 +0300)]
Merge agouti:prog/core

5 years agoAdd conversion from RFC3339 string to DateTime
Mikko Rasa [Sun, 24 Jul 2016 14:24:01 +0000 (17:24 +0300)]
Add conversion from RFC3339 string to DateTime

5 years agoRemove an outdated comment
Mikko Rasa [Wed, 20 Jul 2016 23:51:09 +0000 (02:51 +0300)]
Remove an outdated comment

5 years agoAdd an interface for naming threads
Mikko Rasa [Wed, 20 Jul 2016 23:50:56 +0000 (02:50 +0300)]
Add an interface for naming threads

6 years agoMake Mutex non-copyable
Mikko Rasa [Tue, 14 Jun 2016 05:13:20 +0000 (08:13 +0300)]
Make Mutex non-copyable

6 years agoUse #ifdef _WIN32 rather than WIN32
Mikko Rasa [Tue, 14 Jun 2016 05:04:42 +0000 (08:04 +0300)]
Use #ifdef _WIN32 rather than WIN32

It is the proper compiler-defined macro to use.  WIN32 is defined by SDK
headers and may not appear in all cases.

6 years agoUse Core Foundation to discover standard locations on OS X
Mikko Rasa [Sun, 31 Jan 2016 15:29:52 +0000 (17:29 +0200)]
Use Core Foundation to discover standard locations on OS X

6 years agoAdd a missing #include
Mikko Rasa [Sun, 31 Jan 2016 15:28:08 +0000 (17:28 +0200)]
Add a missing #include

6 years agoProvide access to the Java VM on Android
Mikko Rasa [Sun, 31 Jan 2016 15:20:54 +0000 (17:20 +0200)]
Provide access to the Java VM on Android

6 years agoDisallow negative timeouts for Timer::tick
Mikko Rasa [Sun, 31 Jan 2016 15:20:36 +0000 (17:20 +0200)]
Disallow negative timeouts for Timer::tick

6 years agoSplit Timer::tick into two overloads
Mikko Rasa [Fri, 25 Dec 2015 10:16:47 +0000 (12:16 +0200)]
Split Timer::tick into two overloads

This is in line with other similar interfaces, such as Poller and
Semaphore.  The old function still exists but is deprecated.

6 years agoRefactor Timer::tick
Mikko Rasa [Fri, 25 Dec 2015 10:13:57 +0000 (12:13 +0200)]
Refactor Timer::tick

The previous version had some bugs: the blocking flag was not reset and
it might have tried to execute a canceled (and thus deleted) slot.

6 years agoHack to make 64-bit seeks work on Android
Mikko Rasa [Thu, 19 Nov 2015 16:49:52 +0000 (18:49 +0200)]
Hack to make 64-bit seeks work on Android

6 years agoFix end-of-file detection in Slice
Mikko Rasa [Mon, 7 Sep 2015 09:25:48 +0000 (12:25 +0300)]
Fix end-of-file detection in Slice

Prepare_op was incorrectly adding start_offset to the remaining length.

6 years agoMake fix_case to work with relative paths
Mikko Rasa [Sun, 26 Jul 2015 16:58:38 +0000 (19:58 +0300)]
Make fix_case to work with relative paths

6 years agoAdd negation operator and abs function for TimeDelta
Mikko Rasa [Sun, 26 Jul 2015 16:57:58 +0000 (19:57 +0300)]
Add negation operator and abs function for TimeDelta

7 years agoInclude filename in errors from stat
Mikko Rasa [Tue, 7 Apr 2015 11:05:12 +0000 (14:05 +0300)]
Include filename in errors from stat

7 years agoExpose window flags and set fullscreen mode by default
Mikko Rasa [Thu, 13 Nov 2014 20:46:48 +0000 (22:46 +0200)]
Expose window flags and set fullscreen mode by default

I'll likely change the default once I figure out a good way to add
fullscreen support to libmspgui on Android.

7 years agoMove the generic file-based Asset implementation to a generic directory
Mikko Rasa [Thu, 13 Nov 2014 20:46:14 +0000 (22:46 +0200)]
Move the generic file-based Asset implementation to a generic directory

7 years agoTerminate the process when the application has finished running
Mikko Rasa [Thu, 13 Nov 2014 20:44:51 +0000 (22:44 +0200)]
Terminate the process when the application has finished running

Otherwise the OS may try to start the activity again in the same process,
which doesn't work because of Application::run semantics.

7 years agoChdir into a sensible location before starting the application
Mikko Rasa [Wed, 12 Nov 2014 20:22:15 +0000 (22:22 +0200)]
Chdir into a sensible location before starting the application

System location accessors will ultimately return this directory.  The
default is /, which can easily cause problems.  In particular, many of
my applications expect to have their data in get_sys_data_dir()/"data".
On Android /data exists but is not readable.

7 years agoHave get_user_data_dir return a proper location on Android
Mikko Rasa [Wed, 12 Nov 2014 20:21:36 +0000 (22:21 +0200)]
Have get_user_data_dir return a proper location on Android

7 years agoSplit getcwd and chdir to platform files
Mikko Rasa [Wed, 12 Nov 2014 20:10:25 +0000 (22:10 +0200)]
Split getcwd and chdir to platform files

7 years agoDeprecate the system directory accessors that take arguments
Mikko Rasa [Mon, 10 Nov 2014 17:32:54 +0000 (19:32 +0200)]
Deprecate the system directory accessors that take arguments

They are fundamentally broken due to their dependence on cwd and $PATH,
which may be changed after application startup.  Now that Application
stores an absolute argv0, the argument-less versions can provide a more
consistent answer.

Implementations for the functions are still the same, as they behave
correctly when an absolute argv0 is passed in.  At some point in the
future I'll remove the old versions completely.

7 years agoFix an infinite recursion bug
Mikko Rasa [Mon, 10 Nov 2014 17:32:41 +0000 (19:32 +0200)]
Fix an infinite recursion bug

7 years agoStore absolute path to argv[0] in Application
Mikko Rasa [Mon, 10 Nov 2014 17:29:11 +0000 (19:29 +0200)]
Store absolute path to argv[0] in Application

Working directory or $PATH may be changed by the program, so it may not
be possible to recover the executable later.  It's still not completely
reliable since the parent process can pass any value for argv[0] through
execve().

7 years agoAllow startup info to be set externally
Mikko Rasa [Mon, 10 Nov 2014 17:25:19 +0000 (19:25 +0200)]
Allow startup info to be set externally

... but only if startup didn't happen through Application::run().  Certain
facilities, like Graphics::Display on Windows, require startup info to be
set and would not work without this in a custom startup scenario.

7 years agoAdd a class for accessing applications assets
Mikko Rasa [Sun, 19 Oct 2014 22:34:17 +0000 (01:34 +0300)]
Add a class for accessing applications assets

7 years agoZero-arguments overloads and better error checking for get*dir functions
Mikko Rasa [Sun, 19 Oct 2014 22:27:10 +0000 (01:27 +0300)]
Zero-arguments overloads and better error checking for get*dir functions